Free Shipping to Continental US only !

Antonio Sanchez - Shift / Bad Hombre Volume II , 2LP Vinyl

Antonio Sanchez - Shift / Bad Hombre Volume II , 2LP Vinyl

          (0 reviews)
In stock (1)
  Add to Wishlist
2022 Album from Jazz Drummer Sánchez on Double LP! Featuring Trent Reznor, Meshell Ndegeocello, Dave Matthews, Pat Metheny & More!

Antonio Sánchez, the drummer, multi-instrumentalist and composer from Mexico, now based in N.Y., is a multiple Grammy winner. He is best known for his work with Pat Metheny, played and recorded with Chick Corea, Gary Burton, Michael Brecker, among others. Also, he scored the film Birdman starring Michael Keaton which ended up fetching four Academy Awards and for which Antonio won another Grammy Award.

Antonio Sánchez turns his political anger into a moving musical statement as much as a protest against social injustice. His album SHIFT - Bad Hombre Vol. II features Trent Reznor ( Nine Inch Nails ), Meshell Ndegeocello, Dave Matthews, Ana Tijoux, Kimbra, Lila Downs, Becca Stevens, Silvana Estrada, MARO, Thana Alexa, Rodrigo y Gabriela and Pat Metheny.

SHIFT - Bad Hombre Vol. II is the sequel to Antonio Sánchez's 2017 Grammy-nominated album Bad Hombre. Sánchez is joined by a who's-who of collaborators for the new project, including some of his favorite singers and songwriters, whom he gathered to break down and then reshape material together. For support, he enlisted the help of his alter-ego "Bad Hombre" to record all the instruments single-handedly. At the same time, he used his composer, producer, and percussionist talents to move the songs into new territories without altering their respective essences. The result is a wonderfully cultivated circle attended by Dave Matthews & Pat Metheny, Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Meshell Ndegeocello, Lila Downs, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Kimbra, Ana Tijoux, Becca Stevens, Silvana Estrada, MARO, and Thana Alexa with their own well-known pieces - or with fresh ideas from Sanchez in collaboration. Creative spaces emerged that seemed familiar and new at the same time - like rediscovered places to explore together, musically.

Ultimately, there is nothing remotely substandard among these 16 cuts. Material, performances, and production are all inspired, making Shift (Bad Hombre, Vol. 2) one of the most compelling, varied, and virtually unclassifiable releases to emerge thus far in 2022.

Thom Jurek,, 4/5 stars (The AllMusic 2022 Year in Review - Favorite Latin & Global Albums )

Side A

  1. Opening featuring Ignacio López Tarso
  2. Eh Hee 2.0 feat. Dave Matthews, Lead Guitar Pat Metheny
  3. Mi Palabra featuring Ana Tijoux
  4. The Bucket featuring Becca Stevens

Side B

  1. I Think We're Past That Now feat. Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross
  2. Alambari featuring MARO
  3. Doyenne featuring Sonica

Side C

  1. Risa de Mujer feat. Lila Downs
  2. Trapped ( Red Room ) featuring Thana Alexa
  3. Comet, Come to Me featuring Meshell Ndegeocello
  4. Waiting feat. Antonio Sánchez

Side D

  1. Risa de Mujer ( Interlude ) featuring Lila Downs
  2. El Agua y La Miel featuring Silvana Estrada
  3. Suspended Animation featuring Kimbra
  4. M-Power featuring Rodrigo y Gabriela
  5. Closing featuring Igancio López Tarso