Product description

    Guitarist, songwriter and singer Eric Johnson brings listeners Up Close to his stunning musicality when the Grammy-winning artist releases a custom European version of his sixth studio album in Europe on March 01 April, 2013. The 13-track disc, titled Up Close ( Another Look ), presents 12 new Johnson compositions plus his version of the Electric Flag song "Texas," and features guest appearances by fellow master players Jimmie Vaughan and Sonny Landreth on guitar and vocals by Steve Miller, Johnny Lang and Austin, Texas local favorite Malford Milligan as well as Johnson. He will follow the album's release with European tour dates in April.

    Praised by All Music Guide as one of the "very few musical artists [to] achieve a true signature style which makes comparisons to other musicians impossible," Johnson expands, deepens and enhances his sound on his first album release since Bloom in 2005. The title reflects the revelatory and spontaneous performances on Up Close ( Another Look ) as well as its sonic immediacy thanks to Johnson's second look and revisions on six songs plus mixes on the seven others by legendary veteran engineers Richard Mullen and Andy Johns.

    "I decided to let go a bit and allow things to happen and just go with the flow," explains Johnson of his approach to the album. "I like my work to have a high proficiency, but I also wanted to go for the energy and magic of the performances."

    Available in store


    Forgot your password?

    • All your orders and returns in one place
    • The ordering process is even faster
    • Your shopping cart stored, always and everywhere