Elton John - Jewel Box Rarities & B-Sides , 3 LP Vinyl Set

Elton John - Jewel Box Rarities & B-Sides , 3 LP Vinyl Set

          (0 reviews)
In stock
  Add to Wishlist
40-Track Vinyl 3LP Collection featuring Elton John's Highly Sought After '60s & Early-'70s Demos Plus a Series of Non-Album B-Sides; Culled from Catalog Extensive Jewel Box with All Audio Mastered at Abbey Road Studios by Grammy-Winning Engineer Sean Mage


This gatefold vinyl 3 LP-set brings together highlights from the catalog extensive Jewel Box and includes selections of Elton John's much sought-after 1960s and early 1970s demos, never previously released, plus a series of Elton's non-album B-sides. Rarities 1965-1971 – Elton's much sought-after 1960s and early 1970s demos and music that cemented the foundations of the iconic John-Taupin writing partnership. The compelling, previously unreleased, missing piece in his illustrious story. B Sides 1976-2005 – Flipsides, never before compiled together. Those B-Side gems that are now given another chance to sparkle.

Most of the demos were recorded during sessions before Elton was signed to a recording contract or released his first album. Previously unreleased, "Sing Me No Sad Songs" was written and recorded as a band demo in 1969 and is a fascinating first taste of what was to come from Elton and lyricist Bernie Taupin, and one that mentions not one, but two, future smashes in its lyrics - "Sad Songs (Say So Much)" from 1984's Breaking Hearts album and Elton's first UK chart-topping single "Don't Go Breaking My Heart" from 1976. Also included are the first song ever written by Elton and his debut appearance on a record ( both "Come Back Baby" - 1965), Elton and Bernie's first composition ( "Scarecrow" - 1967 ), and newly-unearthed piano/vocal demos of some of Elton's most acclaimed songs from his early albums.

"To delve back through every period of my career in such detail for Jewel Box has been an absolute pleasure," Elton comments. "Hearing these long lost tracks again, I find it hard to comprehend just how prolific Bernie and I were during the early days. The songs just poured out of us, and the band were just unbelievable in the studio. I always want to push forward with everything I do and look to the future, but having time during lockdown to take stock and pull these moments from my memory from each era has been a joy. As a devout record collector myself, this project has really excited me, and I couldn't be happier with the level of craft involved in such a carefully curated, lovingly constructed boxset. I'm sure my fans will enjoy it as much as I have."

All audio was mastered at Abbey Road Studios by Grammy-winning engineer Sean Magee.


LP 1

  1. Come Back Baby (Bluesology)
  2. Scarecrow (Piano/Tambourine Demo)
  3. A Dandelion Dies In The Wind (Piano Demo)
  4. Velvet Fountain (Piano Demo)
  5. Get Out Of This Town (Piano/Tambourine Demo)
  6. Countryside Love Affair (Piano Demo)
  7. The Witch's House (Piano Demo)
  8. Year Of The Teddy Bear (Piano Demo)
  9. A Little Love Goes A Long, Long Way (Piano Demo)
  10. Mr. Lightning Strikerman (Piano Demo)
  11. I Couldn't Fall In Love With Anybody Else (Piano Demo)
  12. I Get A Little Bit Lonely (Piano Demo)
  13. Nina (You're My Woman Now) (Band Version)
  14. Angel Tree (Piano/Guitar/Tambourine Demo)
  15. Here's To The Next Time (Piano/Tambourine Demo)

LP 2

  1. Watching The Planes Go By (Band Demo)
  2. When The First Tear Shows (Arranged Band Version)
  3. Tartan Coloured Lady (Arranged Band Version)
  4. When I Was Tealby Abbey (Piano Demo)
  5. Turn To Me (Arranged Band Version)
  6. And The Clock Goes Round (Piano Demo)
  7. I Can't Go On Living Without You (Arranged Band Version)
  8. Regimental Sgt. Zippo (Band Version)
  9. Cry Willow Cry (Band Demo)
  10. Skyline Pigeon (Piano Demo)
  11. Two Of A Kind (Arranged Band Demo)
  12. The Girl On Angel Pavement (Arranged Band Demo)
  13. Smokestack Children (Arranged Band Demo)
  14. There's Still Time For Me (Piano/Guitar/Tambourine Demo)

LP 3

  1. The Tide Will Turn For Rebecca (Piano Demo)
  2. Taking The Sun From My Eyes (Arranged Band Version)
  3. Sing Me No Sad Songs (Band Demo)
  4. Rolling Western Union (Piano Demo)
  5. Amoreena (Piano Demo)
  6. Madman Across The Water (Piano Demo)
  7. Snow Queen
  8. The Retreat
  9. Billy And The Kids
  10. Medicine Man
  11. Peter's Song