Free Shipping to Continental US only !

John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman 180 Gram Verve Acoustic Sounds Series Vinyl

John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman 180 Gram Verve Acoustic Sounds Series Vinyl

          (0 reviews)
In stock (1)
  Add to Wishlist
Acoustic Sounds Series reissues from Verve / Universal Music Enterprises! Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from the Original Analog Tapes. 180-gram LPs pressed at Quality Record Pressings! Series supervised by Chad Kassem CEO of Acoustic Sounds

A match made in heaven! This 1963 Impulse! LP is a career highlight for Johnny Hartman's beautiful baritone voice and John Coltrane's exploratory yet empathetic tenor sax.

John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman is one of the three all-ballad albums that John Coltrane recorded in late 1962 and early 1963. Hartman was apparently Coltrane's suggestion, and his deep, dark voice meshes perfectly here with Coltrane's tenor. "The material is well-chosen, including definitive readings of 'My One and Only Love' and 'Lush Life.' McCoy Tyner fills out the chords, augmenting the harmonies and keeping the tone of these ballads respectful but not overly sentimental. All the players get to the deep structure of the songs and are not afraid to play in the most essential and elegant manner. This is beautiful jazz." — Michael Monhart

Recorded on March 7, 1963 at the Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey. The album was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2013.

Side A
1. They Say It's Wonderful
2. Dedicated To You
3. My One And Only Love

Side B
1. Lush Life
2. You Are Too Beautiful
3. Autumn Serenade