Product description

    The album is based on Suzanne Vega's play about the enigmatic author Carson McCullers featuring original songs sung by Ms. Vega and written by Suzanne Vega and Tony-winning composer Duncan Sheik ( Spring Awakening, American Psycho ).

    Carson McCullers, born Lula Carson Smith in 1917, gained critical and commercial success with her first novel, The Heart is A Lonely Hunter. Her first passion was music, but due to her sickly nature and after a bout with rheumatic fever as a child, music was lowered on her priority list. It was after heading to New York City to attend Juilliard School of Music when she began to explore writing - abandoning her music for the new career path. At the young age of 19 her first story "Wunderkind" was published in the December 1936 issue of Story magazine.

    McCullers' first novel, The Heart is A Lonely Hunter, was chosen by Oprah Winfrey for her book club in 2004 which sent paperback sales soaring.

    Side A:
    1. Carson's Blues
    2. New York Is My Destination
    3. Instant Of The Hour After
    4. We Of Me
    5. Annemarie

    Side B:
    1. 12 Mortal Men
    2. Harper Lee
    3. Lover, Beloved
    4. The Ballad Of Miss Amelia
    5. Carson's Last Supper

    Available in store


    Forgot your password?

    • All your orders and returns in one place
    • The ordering process is even faster
    • Your shopping cart stored, always and everywhere