Free Shipping to Continental US only !

Bill Evans "Everybody Digs Bill Evans" Import , 180 Gram Blue Vinyl

Bill Evans "Everybody Digs Bill Evans" Import , 180 Gram Blue Vinyl

          (0 reviews)
In stock (4)
  Add to Wishlist

The superb pianist recorded this album, his second as a leader, in December 1958, more than two years after his debut. In between, of course, he was an integral part of Miles Davis's legendary sextet. Spurred by a rhythm section of bassist Sam Jones and drummer Philly Joe Jones, Bill Evans shows amazing versatility on these sides: his playing on "Minority," "Night and Day," and "Oleo" is surprisingly robust and even bluesy at times--certainly not adjectives usually associated with the cool pianist. He's delightfully playful on the midtempo "Tenderly." Then there are the slow, meditative numbers for which he's known, including three unaccompanied showcases. "Peace Piece," which was actually conceived merely as an introduction to Leonard Bernstein's "Some Other Time," is the most famous, but his reading of another Bernstein song, "Lucky to Be Me," is equally mesmerizing.

Track Listing

A1 Minority
A2 Young And Foolish
A3 Lucky To Be Me
A4 Night And Day
A5 Epilogue
B1 Tenderly
B2 Peace Piece
B3 What Is There To Say
B4 Oleo
B5 Epilogue