Product description

    A never-before-issued recording of Evans and his trio featuring bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Eliot Zigmund performing at the Madison Union Theater at the University of Wisconsin on Nov. 15, 1976. Evans was at the pinnacle of his career during the 1970’s releasing a string of seminal albums on the Fantasy label that would solidify his standing as one of jazz’s most nuanced and lyrical pianists.

    This trio with Gomez and Zigmund still stands as one of the pianist’s most distinctive and memorable groups. On A Monday Evening is a rare- high-fidelity snapshot of that association as there was nothing like a definitive live recording of that trio until now.

    The album features eight songs captured by two college-age DJs, Larry Goldberg and James Farber, who had interviewed Bill Evans for their college radio station, and were able to use the station’s recording equipment to preserve the evening for posterity. The tracks have been remastered from the original analog tapes using the advanced technique of Plangent Processes for transfer and restoration and presenting a crystal clear and beautiful sound.


    01. Sugar Plum
    02. Up With the Lark
    03. Time Remembered
    04. Someday My Prince Will Come
    05. T.T.T. ( Twelve Tone Tune )
    06. Minha ( All Mine )
    07. All of You
    08. Some Other Time


    Related Products

    Available in store


    Forgot your password?

    • All your orders and returns in one place
    • The ordering process is even faster
    • Your shopping cart stored, always and everywhere