Common - A Beautiful Revolution Part 1 , Vinyl

Common - A Beautiful Revolution Part 1 , Vinyl

          (0 reviews)
In stock
  Add to Wishlist
Grammy, Emmy, and Oscar-winning artist Common returns with A Beautiful Revolution PT. 1, Instant hip-hop classic from the artist, actor, activist and two-time NYT best-selling author

Common's 2020 release A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1 features seven new songs and two new interludes that catch Common at a new prime in his career. With a core band that includes Robert Glasper ( keys ), Karriem Riggins ( drums ), Burniss Travis ( bass ), Isaiah Sharkey ( guitar ), and PJ (vocals ), plus features from Black Thought and Lenny Kravitz, A Beautiful Revolution Pt 1 is music meant to "uplift, heal, and inspire listeners dealing with racial injustices as well as other social injustices," says Common.

He continues: "Beautiful Revolution Pt 1 is affirmation. It's recognition. It's elevation. It's music to go with a movement. Because the truth is, there is still so much work to do. Regardless of the outcome of the election, we need to make sure things do not return to the status quo. The intention of the music is to channel all of our pain and outrage into something productive, inspirational, and good. It's to help lead a movement into our next phase of the work to be done." The first taste of the project comes with the new single "Say Peace." This shape-shifting sonic shuffle finds Common trading bars with Black Thought and PJ, as the music mirrors the illusory search for peace that we all pursue. On the new song, Common simply says: "I found my peace, my peace through making these albums."

A Beautiful Revolution Pt 1's cover art is based on photography by Ghanaian photographer and artist Derrick Boateng. The collection will be accompanied by a full-length listening film directed by Mark Leibowitz and featuring Common's full band performing in colorful, vibrant environments inspired by Boateng's photographs.

Side A
1. (A Beautiful Revolution) Intro – featuring Jessican Care Moore
2. Fallin' – featuring PJ
3. Say Peace – featuring Black Thought and PJ
4. What Do You Say (Move It Baby) – featuring PJ
5. Courageous – featuring Stevie Wonder and PJ

Side B
1. A Place In This World – featuring PJ
2. A Riot In My Mind – featuring Lenny Kravitz and Chuck D.
3. Don’t Forget Who You Are – featuring PJ
4. (A Beautiful Revolution) Outro – featuring Morgan Parker