Product description

    Originally released in 1962, jazz multi-instrumentalist Yusef Lateef's Eastern Sounds fuses hard bop with middle eastern music as he is joined by Barry Harris on piano alongside Ernie Farrow ( Double Bass ) and Lex Humphries ( Drums ). This new edition of the album is released as part of the Original Jazz Classics Series and is pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI with all-analog mastering from the original tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio and presented in a Tip-On Jacket.

    Since its inception in 1982, Fantasy's Original Jazz Classics® ( OJC ) series quickly established a reputation as the go-to imprint for collectible jazz reissues. OJC served as a home for the label's impressive jazz catalog – which had grown to include thousands of celebrated titles from Prestige, Galaxy, Milestone, Riverside, Debut, Contemporary, Jazzland, and Pablo. Drawing on this vast wealth of material, Original Jazz Classics released over 850 titles.

    Its goal was simple: to reissue influential jazz albums with the utmost care and reverence for the originals — from the cover art and liner notes to the audio recordings themselves. Given Craft Recordings' shared passion for meticulous preservation and quality, it is a natural step to relaunch Original Jazz Classics as part of the Craft family.

    2023 sees the continuation of this influential jazz series on audiophile-quality vinyl, through the ongoing release of several of the most coveted ( and long out-of-print ) albums in this vast collection.

    Side A

    1. The Plum Blossom
    2. Blues for the Orient
    3. Chinq Miau
    4. Don't Blame Me

    Side B

    1. Love Theme from Spartacus
    2. Snafu
    3. Purple Flower
    4. Love Theme from The Robe
    5. The Three Faces of Balal


    Available in store


    Forgot your password?

    • All your orders and returns in one place
    • The ordering process is even faster
    • Your shopping cart stored, always and everywhere