Product description

    Two-time GRAMMY-nominated blues-rock titan Joe Bonamassa returns with a brand-new studio album, Redemption, Bonamassa's 13th solo studio album and third in a row of all original material. Redemption sees him at his most ambitious yet as he continues to redefine and push the barriers of blues-rock. It features a staggering collection of 12 songs that weave effortlessly through an assortment of genres and reflect the artistic re-birth that he is currently experiencing. "I'm going through some other stuff in my life I didn't expect to be going through. It's a rising, it's contrition, it's acceptance, it's everything. It's painful, but knowing that there's a rising coming," he explains.

    The album reunites Bonamassa with some of Nashville's finest music minds such as Tom Hambridge, James House, Gary Nicholson as well as Richard Page and American rock and roll legend Dion DiMucci ( The Wanderer, Run-around Sue ) whom adds his song writing expertise to the title track. Joe also continues his long creative relationship with Kevin Shirley and together create an album bigger than ever before. "From a Producer's perspective, this is far and away the most challenging and diverse album that Joe has ever made," says Shirley.

    The album was recorded with a remarkable collection of musicians including: drummer Anton Fig (David Letterman Band), bassist Michael Rhodes, keyboardist Reese Wynans, horn players Lee Thornburg and Paulie Cerra, harmony vocalist Gary Pinto, background singers Mahalia Barnes, Jade McRae, Juanita Tippins and Kevin Shirley introduced two additional guitar players, Kenny Greenberg and Doug Lancio. "It was interesting, because having two extra guitar players involved, allowed me to play a certain way," Bonamassa adds.

    Bonamassa is at his ultimate creative peak with Redemption, which follows the recent release of his last live masterpiece, British Blues Explosion Live, that debuted at #1 on the Billboard Blues Chart and marked his 20th #1 album. There is a resounding theme of redemption and salvation on the album, but also very much a sense of strength and empowerment. "We all need to be redeemed at some point in our lives. It's this yearning to redeem yourself after just this tremendous loss and this tremendous feeling of pain," explains Bonamassa.

    "Much as I love blues-rock-jam bands, their albums can have a sameness in song styles - enjoyable, if a little indistinguishable. Guitar virtuoso Joe Bonamassa and his band of ace musicians kick that notion right out of the studio on Redemption. With soaring horns, "Just 'Cos You Can Don't Mean You Should" delivers some hot Memphis soul... The playful energy and jazz stylings of "Pick Up the Pieces" ooze a bouncy Cab Calloway vibe.... Lyrically Redemption take on a range of big topics - money worries, self-doubt, personal pain, love....Variety is the spice of Bonamassa's life."

    - Karen Bells, The Absolute Sound, January 2019

    Side A:
    1. Evil Mama
    2. King Bee Shakedown
    3. Molly O'

    Side B:
    1. Deep In The Blues Again
    2. Self-Inflicted Wounds
    3. Pick Up The Pieces

    Side C:
    1. The Ghost Of Macon Jones
    2. Just 'Cos You Can Don't Mean You Should
    3. Redemption

    Side D:
    1. I've Got Some Mind Over What Matters
    2. Stronger Now In Broken Places
    3. Love Is A Gamble


    Available in store


    Forgot your password?

    • All your orders and returns in one place
    • The ordering process is even faster
    • Your shopping cart stored, always and everywhere